Minutes of the Port Edwards Police and Fire Commission

Special Meeting - Monday, March 25,2024 – 5 p.m. @ Buehler Center

Present: Commissioners Thomasgard, Blum, Shaffer, & Stewart. Commissioner Weiland was absent. Also present were Police Chief Drew, Interim Fire Chief Leubke, Village Board member McGregor, and the following citizens: Cary Smith, Juris Repsa, Jason Worden, Bob Worden, Matt Fletcher, Steve Vechinshi, and Del Stewart.

Meeting was called to order by President Stewart at 5 p.m. Cary Smith, Jason Worden and Matt Fletcher addressed the Commission regarding their dissatisfaction with the way in which recent decisions were made concerning promotions and activities of the FD. Bob Worden asked questions about the makeup of the PFC and the PFC manual. Del Stewart responded to comments of some of the other citizens. President Stewart made brief remarks in response to the citizens comments. Motion by Blum, second by Shaffer to approve the minutes of the March 4th meeting. All in favor.

President Stewart read the draft text of the advertisement for the open Fire Chief position and discussion followed with minor changes and additions. Position will be posted with closing date of April 25, 2024. See attached.

Motion by Stewart, second by Shaffer to go into closed session pursuant to WI Statue Sec. 19.85(1)(c) @ 5:47 p.m. All in favor. Motion by Shaffer, second by Blum to return to open session @ 6:28 p.m. All in favor. Following the closed session, the PFC took the following actions:

- A) Motion by Shaffer, second by Blum to reject PEFD applicant "A" All in favor.
- B) Motion by Shaffer, second by Blum to continue the process for PEFD applicants "B" and "C" with initial interviews to be scheduled with Interim FC Leubke and Commissioners Thomasgard and Shaffer. All in favor.

There were no closing comments. Next meeting of the PEPFC TBD based on scheduling of noted interviews and background checks of PEFD applicants. The prior announced date of April 1, 2024 was voided. Motion by Thomasgard, second by Blum to adjourn at 6:34 p.m. All in favor.

Leo Thomasgard, PEPFC Secretary