ALEXANDER FIELD

SOUTH WOOD COUNTY AIRPORT

MUNICIPALLY OWNED

MEETING MINUTES

AIRPORT COMMISSIONERS:

MUNICIPALITIES:

Mayor Zachary Vruwink, Chairman Arne Nystrom, Town Supervisor Katie Martinson, Representative Brad Hamilton, Alderman City of Wisconsin Rapids Town of Grand Rapids Village of Port Edwards City of Nekoosa

4/11/19

The South Wood County Airport Commission met on Thursday, April 11, 2019 at 3:30 PM at the South Wood County Airport, Alexander Field. Members present were Arne Nystrom, Zach Vruwink, and Katie Martinson, and Brad Hamilton. Also in attendance were Bill Clendenning, Joe Zurfluh, and Jeremy Sickler.

Minutes prepared by Jeremy Sickler, reviewed by Zachary Vruwink

1. Call to order: Chairman Vruwink called the meeting to order at 3:32 PM.

2. Old Business

a. Consider petitioning for annexation airport property to the City of Wisconsin Rapids: Chairman Vruwink started the discussion with a historical timeline of events pertaining to this item including dates, discussions, and actions taken. Commissioner Martinson commented on the options available and pursuit of the best interest of the Airport. Commissioner Hamilton discussed his recollection of the history of provision of services to the terminal building. Commissioner Nystrom added that he would like to pursue all options available to their end before committing to annexation. Nystrom also commented that his preference would be at most to pursue annexation of land only for the new hangar and terminal building. Motion by Commissioner Hamilton, 2nd by Commissioner Martinson to pursue annexation of the parcel of land on which the new hangar will be constructed and the existing terminal area. Motion carried 3-1. (Nystrom opposed)

Guidance was given to Airport Manager Sickler to contact Commission legal representation to direct the Commission regarding the appropriate steps and course of action moving forward.

3. Set next meeting date

In lieu of the regularly scheduled meeting, Thursday May 9 at 1pm was discussed as the most convenient day for all Commissioners.

4. Adjourn

Motion made by Commissioner Hamilton, 2nd by Commissioner Nystrom to adjourn at 4:48. Motion carried.

Respectfully submitted, Chairman Vruwink